May 17, 2024  
2019-2020 NOVA Catalog 
2019-2020 NOVA Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Administration and Accreditation


President of the College

Mel Schiavelli, President

Administrative Council

Mel Schiavelli, Chair
Dimitrina Dimkova
Steven G. Sachs
George E. Gabriel
Steve Partridge

Pamela Hilbert
M. Annette Haggray
Sam A. Hill
Chad Knights
Julie Leidig
Molly Lynch
Nicole Reaves

Northern Virginia Community College Board

Rick Pearson, County of Loudon, Chair
Rosie O’Neil, County of Arlington, Vice Chair

Mel Schiavelli, Secretary
Kerstin Carlson Le Floch, City of Fairfax
Julie-Ann Felgar, City of Falls Church
Jennifer McGarey, County of Fairfax
Todd Rowley, County of Fairfax
John Porter, City of Alexandria
Bruce Neilson, County of Fairfax
Alvie Johnson, County of Price William
Zuzana Steen, City of Manassas
Hong Xu, City of Manassas Park

Virginia Community College System

Glenn DuBois, Chancellor

State Board for Community Colleges

Robin Sullenberger, Chair
Susan Tinsley Gooden, Vice Chair
Yohannes A. Abraham
Carolyn Berkowitz
Nathaniel Bishop
Adnan Bokhari
David E. Broder
Darren Conner
Edward Dalrymple, Jr.
Douglas M. Garcia
William C. Hall, Jr.
Peggy Layne
Eleanor Saslaw
Joseph Smiddy
Walter Stosch


Northern Virginia Community College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award the associate degree. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097, or call 404-679-4500 for questions about the accreditation of Northern Virginia Community College. For other information about the College, please contact NOVA’s Administrative Offices, 4001 Wakefield Chapel Road, Annandale, Virginia 22003-3796 or call 703-323-3000.

Curricula of the College are approved by the College Board and by the State Board for Community Colleges. The two-year associate degree programs are also approved by the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia. Other agencies that accredit or recognize selected NOVA programs include

  • Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing
  • Accreditation Council for Occupational Therapy Education (ACOTE)
  • American Bar Association
  • American Culinary Federation
  • American Dental Association
  • American Veterinary Medical Association - Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities
  • ASE Education Foundation
  • Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP) 
  • Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs 
  • Commission on Accreditation for Health Informatics and Information Management Education (CAHIIM)
  • Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education (CAPTE)
  • Commission on Accreditation for Respiratory Care (CoARC)
  • HVAC Excellence (Benchmark of Academic Excellence)
  • National Accrediting Agency for Clinical Laboratory Sciences (NAACLS)
  • National Association for the Education of Young Children
  • National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage & Bodywork
  • VA Board of Nursing